Congress Programme

Day 1: 11th September 2023

8:00-9:00 Registration of participants
9:00-9:15 Welcoming the guests and participants of the Congress
9:15-9:45 Speech by the Minister / Representative of the President / EASE

9:45-10:00 Solemn OPENING OF THE CONGRESS in the speech of the Director of KOMAG Institute

10:00-11:30 Panel no 1 ground floor plenary room: Energy independence as a face of free Poland

  • Prof. Wojciech Myślecki – Chairman of the Polish Energy Storage Association Programme Council
  • Prof. Jan Popczyk – Faculty of Electrical Engineering, Department of Power System and Control, Silesian University of Technology
  • Piotr Pyzik – Undersecretary of the Ministry of State Assets
  • Patrick Clerens – Secretary General, EASE

11:30-11:45 Coffee break

11:45-13:15 Panel no 2 – ground floor plenary room: The importance of partnership in the creation of civic power engineering

  • Barbara Adamska – Chairman of the Board, Polish Energy Storage Association – moderator of the discussion
  • Prof. Zbigniew Hanzelka – Chairman of the Governing Board of the KlastER project – AGH University
  • Andrzej Jeżewski – Vice-Chairman of the Programme Council of the Polish Energy Storage Association
  • Adam Neumann – Mayor of Gliwice
  • Małgorzata Mańka-Szulik – Mayor of Zabrze
  • Mariusz Wołosz – Mayor of Bytom
  • Marcin Krupa – Mayor of Katowice
  • Marcin Bazylak – Mayor of Dąbrowa Górnicza
  • Tadeusz Królczyk – Mayor of Ochotnica
  • Jacek Wiśniowski – Mayor of Lidzbark Warmiński

13:15-14:15 Lunch break

14:15-15:45 Panel no 3 – brown room 1 (small): A center for the transformation of urbanized ecosystems as a chance to recreate and preserve GREEN SILESIA

  • Prof. Gabriela Woźniak – University of Silesia – moderator of the discussion
  • Prof. Andrzej Jagodziński – Institute of Dendrology, Polish Academy of Sciences
  • Prof. Jorg Dettmar – University of Darmstadt
  • Dr Anne Wheeler – Fellow of the Royal Geographical Society
  • Prof. Jan Frouz – Univerzita Karlova, Ústav pro Životní Prostředí, Prague; Czech Republic
  • Prof. Miguel A. Zavala – Head of Forest Ecology and Restoration Group, Departamento Ciencias de la Vida Universidad de Alcalá, Campus Universitario, 28805 Alcalá de Henares, Madrid, Spain
  • Prof. Marta Pogrzeba – Director and Scientific Secretary of IETU
  • Dariusz Jasiulek, Ph.D. – Head of the Theme Group for Mechatronic Systems, KOMAG Institute

14:15-15:45 Panel no 4 – brown room 2 (small): Energy transformation of mining sites – hybrid energy storage system using post-mining infrastructure

  • Tomasz Elżbieciak – Editor of the website – moderator of the discussion
  • Martin Wright – Chairman of the Board, Gravitricity
  • Bartłomiej Kras – Chairman of the Board, IMPACT Clean Power Technology S.A.
  • Janina Hippler-Nettlau – Malta Inc.
  • Jędrzej Dąbrowski – Chairman of the Board, Ele-DriveCo Sp. z o.o.
  • Vlad Niculescu – Abraxas Power Corporation

14:15-14:45 Panel no 5 – glass room ground floor: Forms and opportunities for financing investments in the area of low- and zero-emission energy

  • Tomasz Drzał – Managing Director of the National Chamber of Energy Clusters – moderator of the discussion
  • Albert Gryszczuk – Chairman of the Board, National Chamber of Energy Clusters
  • Jacek Bogucki – Director of Unit, BGK
  • Prof. Arkadiusz Kustra – AGH University in Kraków
  • Michał Bieda – First Deputy Mayor of Bytom

15:45-16:00 Coffee break

16:00-17:30 Panel no 6 – brown room 1 (small): Environmentally friendly industry: Resources for Life: WATER, HYDROGEN AND COAL

  • Żaneta Kłostowska – Cluster of Hydrogen Technologies – moderator of the discussion
  • Marcin Terebelski – Head of Defence Sector Office, Head of Industrial Development Programme at BGK
  • Prof. Ryszard Naskręcki – Director of the ECOTECH-COMPLEX UMCS
  • Przemysław Mandelt – Chairman of the Board, Tauron Ekoenergia sp. z o.o
  • Tomasz Matuszewski – Mayor of Sanok
  • Marcin Mistarz – Martach Plus
  • Agnieszka Spirydowicz – President at Zgorzelec RES and Energy Efficiency Development Cluster Zklaster
  • Mirosław Skibski – President of the Silesian-Lesser Poland-Hydrogen Valley

16:00-17:30 Panel no 7 – brown room 2 (small): Green Public Transportation an Important Element of the Just Transition of Silesia

  • Krzysztof Burda – PIRE – moderator of the discussion
  • Kazimierz Karolczak – Chairman of the Board, Metropolis GZM
  • Małgorzata Gutowska – Director of the Metropolitan Transport Authority
  • Prof. Andrzej Szarata – Rector of the Cracow University of Technology
  • Tomasz Bednarek – Chairman of the Board, WFOŚiGW in Katowice
  • Bartłomiej Kras – Chairman of the Board, IMPACT Clean Power Technology S.A.
  • Mieczysław Wrocławski – Deputy Chairman of the Board, PSME

16:00-17:30 Panel no 8 – glass room ground floor: Energy storage systems a way to increase the country’s energy security

  • Piotr Kolasa – Legal counsel, Polowiec & Partners law firm – discussion moderator
  • Paweł Szczeszek – Chairman of the Board, Tauron Polska Energia sp. z o.o.
  • Magdalena Bezulska – Member of the Programme Board of the Polish Energy Storage Association, President of the Management Board Veolia term S.A.
  • Barbara Adamska – Chairman of the Board, Polish Energy Storage Association
  • Arkadiusz Marat – Chairman of the Board, Elmech – ASE S.A.
  • Tomasz Łątka – Member of the Programme Board of the Polish Energy Storage Association, Member of the Executive Board, Apator S.A.
  • Tomasz Drzał – Managing Director of the National Chamber of Energy Clusters
  • Patrick Clerens – Secretary General, EASE
  • Damian Koziol – Chairman of the Board, MEB Group
  • Katarzyna Suchcicka – Director of OX2 in Polsce


Day 2: 12th September 2023

8:30-18:00 CONGRESS participants’ visit to ENERGETAB 2023 – the largest International Power Industry Fair in Poland – Bielsko Biala – tour of the exhibition

12:00-15:00 Workshop for CONGRESS participants (KOMAG Institute), Prof. Gabriela Woźniak – “Nature-based solution for urban and industry areas – the cooperation with stakeholders”

  • “The adaptation of the soil biota under herbaceous plant species in response to habitat transformation” – Wojciech Bierza
  • “The distribution of the pectic and AGP epitopes in leaves of Phragmites australis (CAV.) TRIN. EX STEUD. occurring in the gradient of novel ecosystem habitats” – Agnieszka Hutniczak
  • “Do different forms of wool affect the respiration of substrate from a post-mining heap during a classical field experiment?” – Damian Chmura
  • “Functional diversity of communities that develop on coal mine sedimentation pool” – Tadeusz Molenda
  • “The biodiversity and variety of primary and secondary habitat conditions of Arctostaphylos uva ursi in south Poland” – Agnieszka Błońska

Day 3: 13th September 2023

10:00-12:00 KOMAG Institute, large hall: “Renewable energy and energy storage for secure energy and heat supply” – Janina Hippler-Nettlau, Malta Inc.

11:00-13:00 KOMAG Institute, small hall: “Modern tools to support the transition of post-industrial regions”

12:00-14:00 KOMAG Institute, SITG hall: “Closed-loop water management”